Geremew and Wasihun to challenge Kipchoge again at 2020 in LondonMarathon

Geremew and Wasihun to challenge Kipchoge again at 2020 race

Mosinet Geremew and Mule Wasihun, the Ethiopian duo who pushed the legendary Eliud Kipchoge to the limit at the 2019 Virgin Money London Marathon, have confirmed they will return to the race in 2020.
With Kipchoge already confirmed, it means all three podium finishers from last year will be back for the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon on Sunday 26 April.
Geremew, 27, ran the fifth fastest time in history of 2:02:55 to take second place behind Kipchoge in last year’s race and then had to settle for second again in his next marathon, the 2019 World Championships in Doha last October.
Wasihun’s time in finishing third at last year’s Virgin Money London Marathon (2:03:16) was the 11th fastest marathon the world has ever seen.

Shura Kitata, who was fourth last year and second in 2018, has also been confirmed, ensuring that it looks likely to be a year when it is the Ethiopians who will be the biggest threat to Kipchoge winning an historic fifth London Marathon title.
Spencer Barden, Head of Elite Athletes, said: “Last year’s Virgin Money London Marathon elite men’s race was one of the best races we have seen for many years. Mosinet Geremew and Mule Wasihun pushed Eliud Kipchoge as hard as I have ever seen but ultimately could not hang on to the great man in the final two miles. But they will have taken confidence from last year and will come back this time round looking to cause a real shock.”
Kipchoge, who made history by becoming the first human to run a sub-two hour marathon at the INEOS 1:59 Challenge, is looking to become the most successful able-bodied athlete in London Marathon history by winning a fifth title in 2020.
The Virgin Money London Marathon will be the fifth race in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XIII schedule. With three races already completed (the 2019 World Championships, 2019 Bank of America Chicago Marathon and 2019 TCS New York City Marathon), the lead is shared by Lelisa Desisa (ETH), Lawrence Cherono (KEN) and Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN). Geremew is in tied fourth place after his second-placed finish at the World Championships.

The other races in the series are this year’s Tokyo Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Olympic Marathon and BMW Berlin Marathon before the series concludes at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon.
The Virgin Money London Marathon elite wheelchair fields will be announced tomorrow (Wednesday 15 January) and the complete fields announced on Friday (17 January).
Eliud KipchogeKenya2:01.39
Mosinet GeremewEthiopia2:02.55
Mule WasihunEthiopia2:03.16
Tamirat TolaEthiopia2:04.06
Marius KipseremKenya2:04.11
Shura KitataEthiopia2:04.49
Vincent KipchumbaKenya2:05.09
Sondre MoenNorway2:05.48
Gideon KipketerKenya2:05.51
Yassine RachikItaly2:08.05
Jack RaynerAustralia2:11.06