Passa ai contenuti principali

2015 Schneider Electric Paris Marathon: A star-studded elite field

Who will take Bekele's crown?
The 2014 edition of the Schneider Electric Paris Marathon was one for the history books, with running
prodigy Kenenisa Bekele setting a new event record of 2:05:04 in his first attempt over the 42.195 km
distance. Flomena Cheyech also produced a brilliant performance in the ladies' race to win with a time of
Who will take their crown on the tarmac of the French capital next April 12? The 39th edition of the Schneider
Electric Paris Marathon will once again feature a star-studded elite field. Kenyan Moses Mosop, with a
personal best of 2:03:06, will be the favourite. Mosop won in Chicago and finished second in Boston in 2011.
However, three athletes who have already broken the 2:05:00 barrier will be there to take the fight to him:
Kenyan Vincent Kipruto (winner in Paris in 2009) and Ethiopians Bazu Worku (third in Berlin in 2010) and
Deresse Chimsa (second in Frankfurt in 2012).
Kenya's Laban Korir, Gilbert Kirwa and Mike Kigen will also be worth keeping an eye on, just like Ethiopia's
Seboka Tola and Raji Assefa. All of them have run marathons in under 2:07:00. The home crowds will be
counting on Abdellatif Meftah, best French athlete in the 2014 edition (2:13:00), as well as Jean Damascene
Habarurema and Yassine Mandour.

Sophie Duarte's big debut
The ladies' 2015 Schneider Electric Paris Marathon should also be fiercely contested. Four athletes have set
personal bests within one minute of one another: Ethiopians Mulu Seboka (2:23:13) and Amane Gobena
(2:23:50), Kenyan Philes Ongari (2:23:22) and Ukrainian Olena Shurkhno (2:23:32).
It will also be Sophie Duarte's big marathon debut —quite a challenge for the 33-year-old from Rodez,
France, who won the European cross-country championship in 2013 and has held the national record in the
3,000 metres steeplechase since 2009. The Parisian crowds will shout themselves hoarse to cheer her on
throughout the 42.195 km race.

Post popolari in questo blog


Dear Alberto, Personally i started to think to idea to beat WR of halfmarathon at beginning of December,but i spoke about it with Florence only when she came back to Kenya after winning New Delhi HalfMarathon last 15th December.When i asked her if race was hard,she answered me to have controlled till last 3km and to have won easily.So i started to put in her mind idea to try WR in February in a half without highpressure (as RAK for example) keeping so high concetration on quality trainings and putting inside also some crosscountry races(she never ran a cross since her victory in worldchamps 2009 ) such as Eldoret Xc and Police Champs to be focused more con competitions. In last period,the road to Barcellona is went through this quality training-workouts: Tuesday 21st January: 30 km in Moiben (15 going + 15 back) in 1:45:46  (medium speed  3’31”5) Saturday 25th January: 10 x 400m in 1’09” (recover 1’) + 10 x 200 in 32”5 (rec. 1’) + 5 x 400 in 67” (rec. 1’) + 10 x 200 in 31”5 (rec. 1’) with …

Five Past Champions Including World Record-Holders Headline 2016 Bank of America Chicago Marathon Elite Field

August 23, 2016
Reporters May Contact:
Alex Sawyer, Bank of America Chicago Marathon, 1.312.992.6618

Diane Wagner, Bank of America, 1.312.992.2370
diane.wagner@bankofamerica.comFive Past Champions Including World Record-Holders Headline
2016 Bank of America Chicago Marathon Elite Field

Dickson Chumba, Dennis Kimetto and Tsegaye Kebede Lead the Men's Field;
Florence Kiplagat and Atsede Baysa Highlight the Women's Field
CHICAGO - Today, the Bank of America Chicago Marathon announced that current marathon world record-holder and 2013 Chicago Marathon champion and course record-holder Dennis Kimetto (KEN) and half-marathon world record-holder and 2015 Chicago Marathon champion Florence Kiplagat (KEN) will return to compete for the crown at the 39th annual event.

Kimetto and Kiplagat stand out in an historic field that includes five past champions - the most returning champions to toe the line in the same race in event history, setting the stage f…